Architectures and Models for the Smart Grid

Symposium Co-chairs

Yoshizumi Serizawa, Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry (CRIEPI), Japan.
Vladimir Stankovic, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK.
Hongbin Sun, Tsinghua University, China

Scope and Motivation

The complexity of the communication, computing, and control of smart grid devices brings a host of research issues associated with performance, security, and interoperability. The electrification of the transportation system and the increasing reliance on renewable resources require new models for such loads and generators, new archetypes for their efficient and secure interactions through the cyber-physical infrastructure and new algorithms. Such algorithms will coordinate in real time the flexible loads while incorporating increasing volatility in the energy provision, associated with green energy sources and decentralized generation.


Recognizing that the design of algorithms and networking solutions, and the modeling of the various parts of the system go hand in hand, this symposium will focus on the architectural and modeling aspects of these issues.


Topics of Particular Interest


This symposium focuses on, but is not limited to, the following aspects:

  • Sensor network deployments, protocol and architectures for Smart grid services

  • Models and network protocols for real-time information gathering and distribution, adaptive information processing, and compression and storage of power-grid data

  • Collaborative execution, network synchronization and parallel processing models for Smart grid services

  • Integration of innovative services that require a secure cyber infrastructure

  • End use devices (relays, advanced meters etc.)

  • Customer interface with energy providers (software and hardware)

  • Changes in the network architecture to address intermittent, green energy sources and the increased demands of electric vehicles

  • Architecture of energy management systems for different sectors of smart grid, i.e., renewable energy generation farm, smart transmission, smart substation, active distribution, micro-grid, EV aggregator, building, home, etc.

Models of renewable energy sources and EVs with integration into power grids.

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members

Junwei Cao                                  Tsinghua University , China
Samuel Cheng                            University of Oklahoma, US
Mihai Ciobotaru                          University of New South Wales , Australia
Melike Erol Kantarci                   University of Ottawa, Canada
Zubair Fadlullah                         Tohoku University, Miyagi, Japan
Zhong Fan                                   Toshiba Labs UK
Santiago Grijalva                       Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Qinglai Guo                                 Tsinghua University, China
Christoforos Hadjicostis            University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Oliver Kosut                                 Arizona State University, USA
Sangarapillai Lambotharan      Loughborough University, UK
Mingbo Liu                                   South China University of Technology, China
Xian Liu                                        University of Arkansas, USA
Jaime Lloret Mauri                     Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Le Xie                                           Texas A&M University, College Station, USA
Gang Mu                                      Northeast Dianli University, China
Jiaxin Ning                                  Enernex, USA
Frauke Oldewurtel                     ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Lina Stankovic                            University of Strathclyde, UK
Bruce Stephen                           University of Strathclyde, UK
Olle Sundstroem                        IBM Research Zurich, Switzerland
Ping Wang                                  Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Shouxiang Wang                      Tianjin University, China
Lei Wu                                         Clarkson University, USA
Gangui Yan                                Northeast DianLi University, China
Ling Zhou                                   Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, Nanjing, China

Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here.
Paper submission needs to be performed through EDAS: