Communications and Networks for Smart Grids and Smart Metering

Symposium Co-chairs


Hans-Peter Schwefel, Forschungszentrum Telekommunikation Wien FTW, Austria

Suresh Singh, Portland State University, USA

Vincent Wong, University of British Columbia, Canada


Scope and Motivation

Communication technology is essential for Smart Grids in order to access distributed sensor information and to communicate configurations and set-points to actuators. Key tasks entail the integration, effective cooperation, and information interchange among the many interconnected elements of the electric power grid. Geographic distribution, scale, and heterogeneity become challenges that need to be addressed, in particular when realizing smartness in the energy distribution grid. Communication solutions in that setting need to realize machine-to-machine (M2M) communication with very high requirements on dependability and security, while satisfying real-time requirements posed by the targeted control application.


A Smart Grid communication infrastructure will in most cases not be designed from scratch, but needs to reuse existing available technologies and infrastructures, hence forming a heterogeneous communication network in which varying communication properties need to be detected and managed. Major research effort is required to integrate these components, technologies, and protocols into a versatile communication solution that can support a wide variety of smart grid applications ranging from smart metering data collection and demand response to micro-grid management and interaction of medium-voltage substation control with low-voltage distribution grid management.


This Symposium on Communications and Networks for Smart Grids and Smart Metering has the objective to identify communication requirements in various grid applications, analyze existing communication technologies in that context and to develop communication architectures and protocols as well as communication-centric data-management solutions meeting those requirements.


Topics of Particular Interest


Original papers are welcome on (but not limited to) the following aspects of communication technology and networking for Smart Grid scenarios (including Smart Metering):

  • Physical and MAC layer protocols

  • Low power link layer technologies (PLC and wireless)

  • Interference assessment and mitigation

  • Resource management and cross-layer optimization

  • Capacity and communication network planning

  • Multi-hop communication and mesh networking

  • Scalable network and system architectures (including FAN, HAN, NAN, and BAN)

  • Lightweight IP networking stacks for constrained devices

  • Resource and service discovery

  • Communication protocols optimized for (real-time) information collection and control applications

  • Data models and communication-aware data management solutions for Smart

  • Metering and Smart Grids

  • Coexistence, convergence and interoperability mechanism

  • Signal processing and coding techniques for energy related sensor information

  • Integration of smart meters in smart grid ICT networks; integration of electrical, gas and water meters in smart grids ICT solutions

  • Performance of smart metering and smart grid communication solutions and results from field trials

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members


Prathima Agrawal                      Auburn University
Roberto Bruschi                        CNIT
Lin Cai                                       University of Victoria
Lijun Chen                                 University of Colorado at Boulder
Ken  Christensen                       University of South Florida
Franco Davoli                            University of Genoa
Felicita Di Giandomenico          Italian National Research Council, ISTI
Mischa Dohler                           CTTC
Giovanna Dondossola               RSE
Melike Erol-Kantarci                  University of Ottawa
Alia Fourati                                EDF R&D
Jesper Groenbaek                     Forschungszentrum Telekommunikation Wien
Yunghsiang Han                        National Taiwan University of Science and Technology
Rose Qingyang Hu                    Utah State University
Jianwei Huang                           The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Admela Jukan                           Technische Universität Carolo-Wilhelmina zu Braunschweig
Srinivasan Keshav                    University of Waterloo
George Kesidis                         Pennsylvania State University
Long Le                                     INRS, University of Quebec
Ka-Cheong Leung                    The University of Hong Kong
Husheng Li                               University of Tennessee
Jan Markendahl                        Royal Institute of Technology
Masahiro Morikura                    Kyoto University
Klara Nahrstedt                         University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Amit Narayan                            Stanford University
Bruce Nordman                         Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Rasmus Olsen                           Aalborg University
Tony Q. S. Quek                        Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD)
Sumit Roy                                  University of Washington
Robert Schober                         University of British Columbia
Hans-Peter Schwefel                 Forschungszentrum Telekommunikation Wien
Nuno Silva                                 EFACEC
Suresh Singh                             Portland State University
Wen-Zhan Song                        Georgia State University
David Tipper                              University of Pittsburgh
Andrea Tonello                          University of Udine
Wenye Wang                             NC State University
Zhifang Wang                            Virginia Commonwealth University
Christian Wietfeld                      TU Dortmund University

Vincent Wong                            University of British Columbia
Weihua Zhuang                         University of Waterloo
Tanja Zseby                              Technical University Vienna


Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here.
Paper submission needs to be performed through EDAS: